ReAct Africa  –  National Action Plans


The Orchidaceae /ɔːrkɪˈdeɪʃiː/ are a diverse and widespread family of flowering plants, with blooms that are often colourful and fragrant, commonly known as the orchid family.

Along with the Asteraceae, they are one of the two largest families of flowering plants. The Orchidaceae have about 28,000 currently accepted species, distributed in about 763 genera.[2][3] The determination of which family is larger is still under debate, because verified data on the members of

  1. such enormous
  2. families are continually
  3. in flux.

Regardless, the number of orchid species is nearly equal to the number of bony fishes, more than twice the number of bird species, and about four times the number of species.

The family encompasses about 6–11% of all seed plants.[4]

About orchids

The largest genera are Bulbophyllum (2,000 species), Epidendrum (1,500 species), Dendrobium (1,400 species) and Pleurothallis (1,000 species). It also includes Vanilla (the genus of the vanilla plant),

Abvout this specific orchid

the type genus Orchis, and many commonly cultivated plants such as Phalaenopsis and Cattleya. Moreover, since the introduction of tropical species into cultivation in the 19th

century, horticulturists have produced more than 100,000 hybrids and cultivars.

A still life drawing, in oil, of many kinds of orchids, mostly of the Cattleya and Oncidium genera.
Oil painting by Ernst Haeckel.

Another piece of text about orchids 🙂


More from "National Action Plans"

  • Implementation